For her leadership efforts in strengthening the University of Virginia’s College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Dean Meredith Jung-En Woo will receive the 2013 Elizabeth Zintl Award from the U.Va. Women’s Center.

Woo, Buckner W. Clay Dean of Arts & Sciences, assumed her post in 2008 and has skillfully elevated the fields of arts and sciences by bringing her experience as an administrator, reformer and fundraiser to bear, according to her nominators for the award.

In addition to improving the quality of the academic program, she has enhanced the performance of the College’s administrative and fiscal operations. Under her leadership, graduate programs underwent a comprehensive restructuring resulting in more competitive offer packages for students. Annual philanthropic support for the College nearly tripled, from $24 million in 2008 to over $60 million in 2012.

The Women’s Center presents the leadership award annually in memory of Elizabeth Zintl, an accomplished writer and journalist who served as chief of staff in the Office of the University President. The award, given annually to a female employee at U.Va., honors the high degree of professionalism, creativity and commitment that characterized Zintl’s contributions to the University.

“One of the underappreciated facts about the University of Virginia is the role that women administrators have played in moving the University forward,” Woo said. “They have done so quietly, often in the background, but effectively. That important fact is recognized by the Zintl Award. I have long admired the women who have received the Zintl Award in the past. I am humbled to have been selected this year and honored to join their distinguished ranks.”

She will receive the award and be honored at a reception on Sept. 26 at 5 p.m. in the auditorium of the Mary and David Harrison Institute for American History, Literature and Culture/Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library.

~ Excerpted from an article by Anne E. Bromley, Senior Writer and Editor, U.Va. Media Relations

>> See the full UVaToday story.

Your are cordially invited to the reception; please visit this link for more info and to RSVP.

Past Recipients of the Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award include:

2012 Anda Webb, Vice Provost for Administration and Chief of Staff

2011 Carol Wood, Associate Vice President of Public Affairs

2010 Karen Van Lengen, Professor of Architecture and former Dean of the School of Architecture

2009 Marcia D. Childress, Associate Professor of Medical Education and Co-director of the Humanities in Medicine Program

2008 Yvonne Hubbard, Director of Student Financial Services

2007 Carolyn Callahan, Professor in the Curry School of Education

2006 Shamim Sisson, former Senior Associate Dean of Students and Director of the Office of Student Life

2005 Karen Rheuban, Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education, Professor of Pediatrics, Medical Director of the Office of Telemedicine

2004 Karin Wittenborg, University Librarian

2003 Patricia Werhane, former Ruffin Professor of Business Ethics

2002 Shirley Menaker, former Associate Provost for Academic Support; and Marva Barnett, Professor of French, Founding Director of the Teaching Resource Center

2001 Claire Cronmiller, Professor of Biology; and Louise M. Dudley, Assistant Vice President for University Relations

2000 Sharon Hostler, Medical Director, Kluge Rehabilitation Center

1998 Patricia Lampkin, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs; and Sylvia Terry, Associate Dean of African-American Affairs

The Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award utilizes a pan-university nomination and selection process. The award is made possible through the generosity of David A. Harrison III, a devoted friend of Elizabeth Zintl’s and a great benefactor of the U.Va. Law School,the School of Medicine, the Athletic Department, and numerous other entities and initiatives on Grounds. The award carries a $1,000 prize for the honoree to use for her professional or personal development.