About the Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award

The Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award is presented in memory of Elizabeth Zintl, an accomplished writer and journalist who served as Chief of Staff in the Office of the President at the University of Virginia. The Zintl Award, carries a $1,000 prize for the honoree to use for her professional or personal development, celebrates the leadership that is found in many areas and positions at UVA. The award is made possible through the generosity of the late David A. Harrison III, a devoted friend of Elizabeth’s and a great benefactor of UVA’s Law School, School of Medicine, University Library, Athletic Department, and numerous other entities and initiatives on Grounds.

2016 Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award

Pamela Norris (pictured above)
Pamela Norris the Frederick Tracey Morse Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. The first person to attend college, Pamela has founded two research laboratories, secured several patents and drawn more than $25 million worth of research grants to the University of Virginia over the past 22 years. She is a champion of mentoring and a leader among University faculty and the School of Engineering and Applied Science, making her an obvious choice for our Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award.

For more information about Pam’s many accomplishments, click here.

The Selection Process

The Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award uses a pan-university nomination and selection process. We publish an open call for nominations in March. Our selection committee chooses the nominee whose high degree of professionalism, creativity, and commitment best reflect Elizabeth Zintl’s significant contributions to the University. The award is presented in the fall.

Nominations will be accepted until Friday, April 21. Please send all nomination packets to Carol Gilbert at ceg6a@virginia.edu.


  • A woman employed in any area of the University.
  • Excellence in work that makes a direct and significant impact on the core academic enterprise of the University.
  • Unusually high degree of service to the University, within and beyond the expectations of the woman’s position description. Being superb in the position is not sufficient.

Nomination Packets:

  • Letter of nomination from an individual at the University.
  • Current résumé or vita.
  • No more than three (3) letters of support. It is strongly recommended that one of these letters come from outside the area or department of the nominee.
  • Packets with more than 3 letters of support and/or additional materials will not be considered

Please Note:

  • Nominating and supporting letters should be concise and specific.
  • The nominator takes responsibility for shaping the style and tone of the nominating packet.

Past Recipients of the Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award

Zintl Award Winners

Recipients of the Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award, along with their title at the time of their award, include:

1998    Sylvia Terry, Associate Dean of African-American Affairs
1998    Patricia Lampkin, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
2000   Sharon Hostler, Medical Director, Kluge Rehabilitation Center
2001    Louise M. Dudley, Assistant Vice President for University Relations
2001    Claire Cronmiller, Professor of Biology
2002    Shirley Menaker, Former Associate Provost for Academic Support
2002    Marva Barnett, Professor of French, Founding Director of the Teaching Resource Center
2003    Patricia Werhane, Former Ruffin Professor of Business Ethics
2004    Karin Wittenborg, University Librarian
2005    Karen Rheuban, Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education, Professor Pediatrics, Medical Director of the Office of Telemedicine
2006    Shamim Sisson, Former Senior Associate Dean of Students and Director of the Office of Student Life
2007    Carolyn M. Callahan, Professor in the Curry School of Education
2008    Yvonne B. Hubbard, Director of Student Financial Services
2009    Marcia D. Childress, Associate Professor of Medical Education and Co-Director of the Humanities in Medicine Program
2010    Karen Van Lengen, Professor of Architecture and former Dean of the School of Architecture
2011     Carol S. Wood, Associate Vice President of Public Affairs
2012    Anda L. Webb, Vice Provost for Administration and Chief of Staff
2013    Meredith Jung-En Woo, Buckner W. Clay Dean of Arts & Sciences
2014    Jane Miller, Senior Associate Athletic Director for Programs
2015    Farzaneh Milani, Chair of the Department of Middle Eastern and South Asian Languages and Cultures
2016     Pamela Norris, Frederick Tracy Morse Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering